Sign up to receive headlines by email!

Follow @WSS_Sprintcars On Twitter
Find WSS on Facebook at

Sign up to receive WSS headlines by email!

WSS Mobile is proudly brought to you by Speedway Australia

Visit Full WSS Site

Please Wait...

Please Wait...

Sign up to receive headlines by email!

Jun 27, 2016

Speedway Australia shares with the international Speedway community the sad loss of a giant within our sport - Shane Krikke. Shane passed away yesterday after a long battle with cancer. He was 46.

His passion for Sprintcar racing within Australia is well documented and was recognised as mentor of the Krikke Motorpsort Team based in West Australia.

Shane’s belief and determination to see the sport prosper and excel at an elite level was his mantle with his support of Australia’s premiere sprintcar tournament, World Series Sprintcars unquestionable.

To Shane’s wife Jode and the Krikke Motorsport family and friends, the Board and staff at Speedway Australia offer their sincere condolences.

To Shane: our time together in planning World Series Sprintcars – The 30th Anniversary Tour was cut way to short, we promise you, we will work diligently, to make it everything you believed it should be….

Mt Pleasant’s Richard Hathaway captures a special moment in Australian Speedway, Titled “Wing Dancers” Brooke Tatnell’s win in the 2015 Krikke Boys Shootout has the Krikke team celebrating with a wing dance and Shane at the summit. Richards’s image reflects similarities to the iconic WWII photo by Joe Rosenthal “Raising the flag at Iwo Jima.”


Jun 24, 2016

Incumbent Promoter of Adelaide Motorsport Park (formerly Speedway City) Bill Miller is thrilled his venue is to be included in the 30th Anniversary Tour of World Series Sprintcars.

The former Super Sedan pilot who takes over the reins at Adelaide on July 1, is busy developing a schedule of events for season 2016-17.

Adelaide Motorsport Park will promote 2 rounds of the record 19 round - 21 Night tournament.  Boxing Day night December 26 will be the opening round of the popular and drama filled WSS Speedweek promotion.

General Manager of Speedway Australia, Tim Savell welcomed Bills new promotion to the World Series Schedule, a competition focused on promoting its rich 30 year history, the present and the future.

Miller also announced his organisation will continue to promote the George Tatnell Cup now as part of World Series Sprintcars. “George played a huge role in the development of speedway racing in Australia during the 1970’s & 80’s,” Bill reflected. “As a young fella in the stands at Rowley Park, I remember George exciting the fans with his showmanship. His claim that 50% love me, 50 % hate me, so I have a 100% following is something that still resonates today. Can you imagine George being let loose on Facebook?”

Miller said it will be an honour to promote the George Tatnell Cup Friday February 3, 2016.  

This exciting addition to the 30th Anniversary WSS schedule is an appropriate way to recognise the legacy of Tatnell, the inaugural winner of World Series Sprintcars back in 1987. The full calendar now looks like this:-

30th Anniversary World Series Sprintcars Calendar.

November 12, Murray Bridge Speedway – SA.

November 19, Valvoline Raceway Sydney – NSW.

November 26, Archerfield Speedway – QLD.

December 3, Toowoomba Speedbowl. – QLD.


2017 WSS Speedweek

December 26, Adelaide Motorsport Park. – SA.

December 27, Murray Bridge Speedway. – SA.

December 28, Borderline Speedway - Mount Gambier. SA.

December 30, Avalon Raceway – Geelong VIC.

January 1, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool. VIC.    


Sunshine Swing

January 3, Toowoomba Speedbowl. QLD.

January 4, Archerfield Speedway QLD.

January 6/7, Archerfield Speedway Australian Open QLD.



George Tatnell Cup

February 3, Adelaide Motorsport Park. – SA.


WSS Ultimate

February 4, Murrays Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway. SA.


Western Swing

February 11, Perth Motorplex. WA.

February 17, Attwell Park Speedway – Albany WA.

February 18, Bunbury Speedway – Bunbury WA.


WSS Grand Final

February 24/25, Perth Motorplex (Western Swing Round) WA.

February 26, WSS30 Presentation Dinner


Interested Teams, for further information contact:

Speedway Australia

Sports Development Officer

Shawn Mortimer 0429 333 528




May 27, 2016

Many Australian Speedway legends have left their mark on the national landscape of this great sport, some have passed on, while others are still around to share their greatest memories. In recognition of the valuable contribution made by many, the Speedway Australia Australian Speedway Hall of Fame will once again recognize ‘achievement’ within the sport at a Gala Dinner and Presentation to be held at the Gold Coast on September 10, 2016.

This function will be threefold, inclusive of the Inaugural Speedway Australia National Awards Presentation, plus the official launch of World Series Sprintcars 30th Anniversary tour.

General Manager for Speedway Australia Tim Savell said, “This special night for the speedway industry will provide us the opportunity to reflect and honour our rich history, whether young or old, this will be an emotive experience for Competitors, Administrators, Promoters and Fans alike, I invite all to consider joining in and making it the speedway social event of the year.”

World Series Sprintcar Commentator Ben Bishop will host the formal evening which will be held in the Surfers Paradise Rooms of Jupiters Casino. 

Speedway Historian Sydney’s Wayne Meyer is thrilled by the announcement the Hall of Fame returns in 2016.

“This is the perfect scenario for Drivers of today to honour the champions of the past, while the time comes for a changing of the guard, it’s great to remember and applaud the accomplishments of the heroes of the past.” Meyer said.

The Inaugural Speedway Australia National Awards Presentation is a project close to the heart of new GM Tim Savell. “It’s imperative we celebrate achievements within the sport, recognition at the highest level is important in the consolidation of Speedway across the country,” Savell said. “It’s also exciting to launch the 30th Anniversary tour of World Series Sprintcars, a record 18 rounds over 20 intense nights of competition has been scheduled, promising a competition fitting of a milestone year.”

The nomination process will be advised shortly via Speedway Australia, further enquiry to Speedway Australia Head Office.

Photo courtesy: ‘Just One More” – Speedway Photography by Bill Meyer, 2007 Hall of Fame inductee Grenville Anderson (l) with Speedway Sedan Greats, John Leslight and Allan Butcher.



W2 Brooke Tatnell

W 12 Daniel Harding

A1 David Murcott

NQ25 James McFadden

W 14 Jason Pryde

W 17 Kyle Hirst

W26 Luke Dillon

W49 Ryan Jones

W3 Steven Lines

Please Wait...